Heres a surprise

image

image

Snow day.
We woke up this morning to find SNOW!

A day off school for Boy10 and a day off work for MrK.

It’s been lovely.
MrK walked Sox and then played in the garden with Boy10.

image

They covered an old plastic house with snow to make an igloo. Kind of cheating but it worked.

I sat inside and started another pair of socks.

I finished a pair for MrK last night.

image

As you can see, the stripes go the opposite way again.
I start each sock from the different end of the ball.
This doesn’t annoy me.
If the stripes were going the same way and not matching, that would annoy me so this is just easier.

I also did some more hand sewing.

image

This doesn’t come out very often although i really enjoy working on it.
Theres something about a snowy day that makes me want to sew by hand.
The snow hasn’t stopped all day so i might get some more done tomorrow.

I’ve also finished another book. Heres where the surprise happens.

image

I didn’t love it.

Everything about this book said it was inspirational and that i’d need tissues.

I didn’t.

Maybe its me, maybe i’ve read so much lately that i didn’t give it my full attention but i just didn’t feel it.

Maybe it will hit me later and i’ll have the lightbulb moment but not now.

I like to identify, even slightly with a character in a book, even just identifying with a feeling will do but in this one – nothing.
I didn’t feel any connection to anyone.

It tells the story of 16 year old Tessa who has leukemia and is going to die.
She has a list if things she wants to do first. Simple things that alter as you read the book and her mind changes in what she really wants and whats really important to her.

Its well written and it is classed as a childrens book.
Winner of the Branford Boase Award and shortlisted for the Guardian Childrens Fiction prize.

I wanted to like it as it had been recommended to me as inspirational but i’m sorry, i didn’t.

Edit – i read this book in paperback i bought from the charity shop.
As i have given the kindle price of previously read books, its only fair i do the same with this.
At time of writing it is £3.67, it has 4.5 stars from over 200 readers so maybe it is me thats wrong.

Thanks for reading.
Take care and keep warm.x

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in kindle, knitting., life, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heres a surprise

  1. LucyLadley says:

    It was fun to see the projects you worked on during the snowy day! The snow is falling here in Kansas City. Great weather for creative projects!

Leave a Reply

