The best feeling in the world.

Boy9 has been asking me to teach him some sewing. He made a bag from a t-shirt last term at school and really enjoyed it.
Yesterday l asked what he wanted to sew and he said cross stitch.
I looked through the magazines l have and one had a free kit for monsters inc on 14ct aida that he liked so l told him what to do and set him off.

image

Later on we moved the lesson into the garden.
Just look at that concentration.

He is so proud of himself as am l.

image

One of the first things he said to me this morning was – l am dressed now, can l cross stitch?
My reply was YES!

He’s really enjoying it and we looked on e bay yesterday and ordered him a purple lizard kit on 11ct aida.

I really love the fact that he is so interested in everything l do. Interested enough to try it himself. I love watching the pride on his face as it ‘clicks’ what he is doing.
Even in two days his stitches are becoming better and neater.

I’m also hoping to get him trying spinning on the wheel this holiday too. I need to empty the bobbins first, finish spinning the undyed BFL.
I suspect he could be a natural.

I’ve also found time to start quilting the boy quilt.

image

I’m quilting this in straight lines using different coloured cotton.
Green on the brown and brown on the green.

image

I’m pleased with it so far, still got alot to do though.

For a change and just for abit of fun playtime l cut out some strips 1.5″ wide.
I looked in my quilting book and chose a block to play with.

image

I like it but l do need alot more practice.

image

As you can see with the gridded square ruler over the top my seams aren’t all straight.
It looks ok but l do want it to look better.
After this l did press it hard and it looked abit better but still not perfect.

I am going to cut more strips and keep trying until l can match seams and get it right.

I’m quite tempted to make a larger block by cutting the strips 3″. Just for fun.

Right, after a lovely day l am going to do a little bit of cross stitch myself.

Thanks for reading.
Take care.x

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The best feeling in the world.

  1. youllfindmewhistling says:

    How awesome is that?! I have 2 sons and hops one day they want me to teach them some crafty things too 🙂

  2. LucyLadley says:

    How wonderful to have such a creative son!!!!

  3. Hi Tracey.
    I think the gallery’s website is on their ‘to-do’ list. They only opened at Easter this year so have a lot to do.
    The Magical Meadow wall hanging is £250. I forgot to measure it but it’s a bit larger than the last one so I would guess its aprox 32″ (80cm) square. Thanks for asking.

    Lovely to see Boy9 taking such an interest in needle work you never know he might end up being the next Kaffe Fassett!
    PS, I’m very jealous of your sunshine, we’ve been in the clouds for days but that’s the price you pay of living in one of the highest towns in England, lol.

Leave a Reply

