Short row heel.

I don’t know if I have a problem here. I definately think I may have some kind of finishing problem as I seem to be frogging more than I finish lately.

I have a problem with heels.

I almost always use a heel flap and gusset, I don’t know if that is a problem or not but I do feel that I should be able to do more.
I have done the fleegle heel on toe up socks and also my trusty heel flap on toe up where the flap sits under the heel and the heel turn goes up the leg. I have also done a heel flap that looks exactly like the top down ones. Even I have to look to see which way up I have knitted them.

I do feel that I ought to be able to do short row heels though. I don’t know why but I have always had problems with them.

I have a pair of plain socks on the needles waiting a heel so I sat down and did a short row heel.

Its a 60 stitch sock and I did the heel over 60% of the stitches so thats a heel on 36 stitches.

I don’t know if I like it.

I did think it would be quicker than a heel flap. It wasn’t. I don’t know if thats because I am so used to doing the flap and on this I had to concentrate slightly.

I also have holes.
I tried to avoid those by K2tog by the heel and instep join and then increasing in the next stitch but the holes are there…..just on one side.

I don’t know if i should just sew the holes up and get on with it or rip back and do the normal flap and gusset.
I have a feeling the flap would also wear better as it has the slip stitch pattern.

Is it wrong to just use one technique, just because you like it and it works for you?

E.T.A 2 minutes later I answered my own question, no it is not wrong to use techniques I am happy and familiar with. I have frogged the heel and I am now going to put in a heel flap. It’s not as if I didn’t try and I am completely closed to different techniques, I tried and have gone back to my favourite.

I now know though that a short row heel took me 5g of yarn.
Out of interest I will weigh how much the heel flap and turn takes also.

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

