Merino top dyeing again.

I mentioned in a previous post how I was going to dye my next 100g of Merino Top.

This is how it turned out.

I mixed some orange in with the black, hoping the black would split into green and the orange would split out too.
That didn’t happen.
I then put it in a mauve dyebath which gave me this effect.

I’m not sure if I like it yet. I must say though having just read this blog post and seen the photo it does look pretty nice.

It feels slightly felted too.

I’m thinking of putting 50g through the drum carder to mix the colours and spin the other 50g onto a bobbin as it is and then plying the bobbins together.

I don’t usually do seperate bobbins as I like to wind it all into a centre pull ball and ply both ends together. I am not confident enough to think that I won’t end up with lots still on 1 bobbin once plying has finished.

I do think that would give the nicest yarn though. I will spin the 50g first before deciding if to put the remainder through the drum carder or not.

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

