Weaving experiment.


Click to make bigger
Originally uploaded by knittywittywoo

Well after my fantastic accident with the yarn in the last post I was going to relist them all back in the Folksy shop. Instead I have shut it. I have decided that I really want to use all these yarns myself. I have also received module 2 of my course work and I really want to have the time to concentrate on getting that done.
I tend to get abit obsessive and know that I will constantly want to be dyeing and checking out the shop so that has gone on the back burner for a while. I might be able to get a good balance and start again but for now, something had to give. Christmas gift knitting will also take quite a chunk of my time too.I have already had relatives telling me their sock sizes. I plan to keep dyeing and experimenting so keep popping back.
In the meantime, I have been weaving. I wanted to know if I could get a decent sized scarf from 100g / 328 yrds. I took the multi and a semi solid green and warped up with the idea that if I got 2 scarves then 1 would be possible.
I used the 7.5dpi reed and warped at a length of 75″ with 66 ends. This scarf used the green as warp and the multi as weft. I’m very happy with it, finished size after washing ( not including fringe ) is 56″ x 7 3/4″ so it is a reasonable size. It’s really soft and drapey but I am wondering if the 10dpi reed would have been better. Posted the question on Ravelry so no doubt someone will answer me. My edges are alot better now but I still prefer the look of single crochet up the sides. It seems to finish it off somehow.

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

