Millicent.

This crocheted scarf came to me in a dream.

I was inspired by doing a drop stitch knitted scarf that is basically seafoam pattern. Well I got bored and went to bed thinking, it would be quicker to crochet it. I woke up and could still remember how to do the pattern I had thought of.

I used a 5mm hook and Pure Luxury Merino by Stylecraft 2x50g in shade3637 Lavender.
It is a scarf so use whatever yarn and hook you feel comfortable with. Remember that if you use wool it will grow with blocking which really brings the pattern out.

All terms are in UK.

Stitches used..
UK ….single crochet, double crochet. Pattern stitches explained below.

Pattern stitches..
The pattern stitches are basically trebles and extended trebles ( UK ) There are pictures and instructions here… http://crochet.about.com/library/weekly/aa101897.htm

Pattern stitches…..( worked over 5 dc )

Treble, chain 1, Double Treble, chain 1, Triple Treble, chain 1, Double Treble, chain 1, Treble, chain 1.

Scarf

Chain 18

1/ 1dc in 2nd chain from hook, dc across row ( always 17 stitches from here ), turn

2/ chain 1, 1dc in first 2dc, use *pattern*, 1dc in next 3 dc, *pattern*, 1dc in last 2 stitches, turn

3/ chain 1, 1dc in each stitch ( 17 stitches ), turn

4/ as 3

5/ chain 1, 1dc in first 6 stitches, use *pattern*, 1dc in last 6 stitches, turn

Continue until desired length doing rows 3 & 4 between alternate pattern rows eg, 3,4 2,3,4,5.

What I did in the scarf above was to start the scarf, then I went back to the beginning end and picked up and crocheted 17dc across the start up edge to work the scarf in the opposite direction with the 2nd ball of wool. If you do this remember to make sure that the pattern row is the opposite to the first row made, if working in the opposite direction the first pattern row will be row 5.

It works also just crocheting one way without going back to the middle.

Once scarf is desired length and the same length each side if working from the middle wash and block to open up the pattern., if so desired.

I hope you enjoy this pattern and that the instructions are clear enough.
( It’s the first one I’ve totally written out myself ). Please let me know if they need to be clearer.

Please let me know if you do crochet this scarf as I would love to see it in different yarns.

About Tracey.

I craft, any craft will do.
This entry was posted in Millicent Pattern.. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Millicent.

  1. Cinders says:

    love your scarf pattern. I cant crochet, shame!i’ve not tried cake dyes yet, but they look really good. will give them a go.

  2. aohdesigns says:

    It’s a great scarf! I love that it came to you in a dream.

  3. Lovely scarf,I am glad I am not the only one who “dreams” in crochet. I get most of my ideas in those moments before I fall asleep. Unfortunately I don’t always remember them!

  4. Joanna Stone says:

    Thanks for posting! This is a super-quick Christmas present that I think my friends will love.

  5. Szarina says:

    fabulous. I will try this soon šŸ™‚ thanks~

  6. nanzz says:

    Absolutely divine pattern. However, I'm using red heart medium worsted yarn lavender 0358 and the stitches are all wrinkly and it doesn't look as if it will straighten out with blocking. Granted that I've only done 2 rows of the pattern stitch I don't want to continue if it won't end well. Can you help?

  7. Cindy says:

    Hi Tracey started making this scarf last night it is coming along beautifully after a few tear outs, had printed this pattern out back on 1/2/2009 guess it was about time to work on it…..funny how that happened and found your blog again…..will post pick after I finish. Thanks for the great looking scarf pattern.

  8. annavacha says:

    Hi, what a beautiful pattern! I am stumped however. With the pattern stitch, you add a chain between each stitch. However, you don’t skip stitches when you do the trebles, so then at the end you have a bunch more stitches than you started with. You then say to double crochet across, but you don’t mention skipping the chained stitches between each?

    My problem then is that if I dc in each stitch, I end up with too many stitches. If I don’t, then I can’t figure out which to skip to give me the correct count. I have limited experience, so maybe it should be obvious to me, if so, sorry and thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

